The Los Angeles Trip Perspective

The summer of 2019, my brother received the opportunity to play in a hockey tournament in Los Angeles, CA. I was going back and forth, not sure whether to stay home or go along. I rarely go to my brothers tournaments. As I pictured the trip, I would be stuck in a chilling box a of ice, watching kids pummel each other, listening to ear damaging whistles echoing off of the steel structure, while parents complain about the ref’s calls 24/7, wishing I was out experiencing everything LA has to offer. I thought to myself, “I already spend so much time at home hearing about adolescent hockey. Why would I want to dedicate an entire trip to it?”

My pessimism was bothering my family. Instead of nagging, I started looking into all the things I always wanted to try. I follow many “influencers” on Instagram who live in the beautiful city of Los Angeles and who visit all the lavish coffee shops, trendy restaurants, spectacular hiking trails, divine beaches and next-level workout classes. I informed my family of my change of heart with only one condition. I would go to Los Angeles if I could explore outside of the hockey rink. As the game schedule was released, I was thrilled to see they were all scheduled in the morning leaving the rest of the day to do whatever!

LAX

My first impression leaving the airport: the gradient blue skies, palm trees swaying in the breeze, while the sun shined golden on everything it touched.

The highways moving slower than me taking a calculus test. Filled with ambitious people in suits taking business calls. Luxurious vehicles, Range Rovers, BMW’s, and Audi’s, were around every corner. An atmosphere completely different than Wisconsin.

In-N-Out

In-N-Out, the infamous burger joint. The red and yellow logo decorated many locations throughout. Beholding a hamburger that compelled drive-thru lines out of the parking lots.

The Santa Monica Pier offered the carnival feel over the water. You turn your eyes to the left and your vision is concentrated with amusement from flashing neon lights, the rush of the roller coasters zooming by, the smell of calorie enriched treats outlining the park in booths. Then you turn your sight to the right to observe the sun gradually fall behind the rigid mountain range.

Soul Cycle, Manhattan Beach

I filled my mornings with Soul Cycle classes. The day would start in a judgmental free candlelit room, pedaling to the beat of the music, while the instructor empowered us with her support.

Once I got home, I shared my Soul Cycle experience with so many people. I used to go around saying when I’m older I want to move near a soul cycle when anyone would ask about my trip.

The Hollywood sign is situated on Mount Lee, in the Hollywood Hills. A symbol of dreams, wealth, and fame that is plastered all over social media. The largest adventure of the trip. 3 miles uphill in the dry heat. The higher we hiked the harder the grasps for air were and the more frequent the water breaks were. Treading up the hill felt like it came with more ease than stomping our heavy-sore legs 3 miles down the hill. Besides the unexpected toll on our bodies, we were encapsulated by the beauty of the views. Griffith’s Observatory to the left, Downtown LA in the middle, and the Hollywood sign to the right.

The Toyota Ice Rink

The purpose of the trip, hockey. A grueling competition. Talent was everywhere. Players from various cities throughout the US and Canada all congregated in the LA Kings practice rink for a tournament. A series of victorious games led to the championship game. Perseverance, aggression, and skill led to a 2nd place finish for his team.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started